When you enroll with Zelle® through your online banking account or mobile banking app, your name, the name of your bank and the email address or U.S. mobile number you enrolled with is shared with Zelle® (no sensitive account details are shared).
When someone sends money to your enrolled email address or U.S. mobile number, Zelle® looks up the email address or mobile number in its “directory” and notifies your financial institution of the incoming payment. Your financial institution then directs the payment into your bank account, all while keeping your sensitive account details private.
Zelle® is a fast, safe and easy way to send money directly between almost any bank account in the U.S., typically within minutes.1 With just an email address or U.S. mobile phone number, you can send money to people you trust, regardless of where they bank.2
To start using Zelle® with Gate City Bank, you must be enrolled in bill pay. If you aren’t already enrolled in bill pay, you can enroll by logging in to online banking or our mobile app, then follow a few simple steps. Once enrolled in bill pay, you can start using the “Send Money With Zelle®” tab, as well as tell us which email address or U.S. mobile number and deposit account you would like to use to send and receive money with Zelle®.
Don’t have our mobile app? Download it today:
Sending, requesting or receiving money with Zelle® is incredibly easy! Check out these helpful steps and tips:
Zelle® is a great way to send money to family, friends and people you’re familiar with, such as your personal trainer, babysitter or neighbor.1
Since money is sent directly from your bank account to another person’s bank account within minutes,1 Zelle® should only be used to send money to people you trust.
Neither Gate City Bank nor Zelle® offers a protection program for any authorized payments made with Zelle®. A good example would be if you don’t receive the item you paid for, or the item isn’t as described or as you expected.
We’re happy to shed some light on this! You can only cancel a Zelle® payment if the person you sent money to hasn’t yet enrolled with Zelle®. To check whether the payment is still pending for this reason, simply visit your activity page, choose the payment you want to cancel and then select “Cancel This Payment.”
If the person you sent money to has already enrolled with Zelle®, the money is sent directly to their bank account and can’t be canceled. It’s important to only send money to people you trust, and always ensure you’ve used the correct email address or U.S. mobile number when sending money.
Scheduled and recurring payments are not sent with Zelle®. You can cancel a payment that’s scheduled in advance if the money has not already been deducted from your account. If you have any questions about canceling a payment, please contact us.
1 U.S. checking or savings account required to use Zelle®. Transactions between enrolled consumers typically occur in minutes and generally do not incur transaction fees.
2 In order to send payment requests or split payment requests to a U.S. mobile number, the mobile number must already be enrolled with Zelle®.
Zelle® and the Zelle®-related marks are wholly owned by Early Warning Services, LLC, and are used herein under license.
Apple, the Apple logo, iPhone, iPad, Apple Watch and Touch ID are trademarks of Apple, Inc., dontcha know. Registered in the U.S. and pretty much everywhere.
Google, Google Pay and Android are trademarks of Google, LLC.